What ever happened to Trolls?

I used to be an avid troll collector and I’ve noticed over the years that people don’t buy them anymore. They seem to be the “Major Craze” on everybody’s mind one moment and they are long forgotten the next. I have respectively around 400 trolls and I still love them. I was wondering if any was wondering why they aren’t popular any more like me and if they have an answer to why they are unpopular. Also I would like to know if anyone has a troll collection larger than mine.

Omega I have a collection of over 500+ beaniebabies and would like to trade them for troll dolls.

If this is not ok, I also have 8-track tapes to trade.

Please advise. :slight_smile:

Troll doll trends resurface every few years. My aunt has a collection from the 60s. They disappeared and then picked up again in the 70s, went into hibernation then picked up again in the late 80s (IIRC - when I was a teacher, they were everywhere in the classrooms, a distraction to the point where the principal had to forbid the kids from bringing them to school).

Troll dolls are a fad. Fads are cylical, like hulahoops.

Actually troll dolls (and hula hoops) are more like 17-year locusts. They’re just dormant for awhile, then suddenly the entire earth is covered in them, creating mass hysteria and panic.

Repeat fads (items like hulahoops and troll dolls that can sit dormant in a warehouse without a loss of recognition) are aimed at nostalgiacs like me (“Oooooh, I had one of these when I was a kid. I’m gonna buy one and relive my youth through my children.”) No kids here, but I do say “Ooooh, I had one of these when I was a kid. I’m going to buy one for my nieces/nephews/neighbor’s kids and relive my childhood through them.”