What happen to the regular people who committed crimes in Nazi Germany?

In germany all the “regular” people who were police, enlisted soldiers, and mayb security guards, were they ever charged with war crimes or only their superiors? Is there any laws restricting who you can target for war crimes?

If I lived in nazi germany and I was a police officer or soldier, and I was forced into a situation where If I didn’t shoot somebody in the face or my family would be killed, I’d probably shoot that person in the face and fall in line with the rest of them. Does that mean I should be held responsible for the actions of the higher up? Does following the order make them criminals, or are they victims of circumstance?

The Nuremberg trials were where “Just following orders” was not considered a valid defense against war crimes.

AIUI, that pretty much never happened. The Nazis didn’t need to blackmail German soldiers into committing atrocities. They were able to find sufficient volunteers for that sort of duty, and soldiers who didn’t have the stomach for it were simply rotated into other, less morally compromised positions.