What have you been mistaken for?

Following up on the mistaken for a prostitute thread:

Twice when I was younger I was mistaken for the valet at some upscale restaurants. Once I was outside grabbing a smoke, another time just waiting to be picked up. I don’t know why either, I wasn’t well dressed, but I wasn’t wearing an orange blazer or anything like that.

Far more often I’ve been mistaken for a construction worker or an axe murderer, but I really did look the part in those cases.

In a fast-food restaurant once in a high-viz yellow motorcycle jacket and black rain pants/boots, some old lady thought I was a firefighter.

My unpaid internship adviser mistakes me for someone who likes Mathematics. Or I am mistaking my unpaid internship adviser for someone mistaking me for someone who likes Mathematics?

Due to a poor combination of clothing choice and location, I was once mistaken for a Target employee (in Target).

Exactly. Don’t wear khakis and a red shirt to Target.

I was once mistaken for a cop, more precisely a detective. Mind you, I was in a black trenchcoat and fedora. :cool:

I went to vote on my way to work, but as soon as I entered the polling place an election judge told me to go across the street. :confused: I was almost to the door when I saw the “Vote Here” poster and turned back. The election judge explained that she thought I was going to the police conference across the street but picked the wrong door.

I don’t wear my bright green Eddie Bauer fleece to Jewel because their employee jackets are also bright green fleece. :slight_smile:

I was once mistaken for a murderer (and my client mistaken for a lawyer) during a trial where he looked older, wiser, and better dressed than I did.

WOW!

I have mistaken my unpaid internship adviser for a robber. Is it a mistake?

When I was working for a beverage distributor, I was often mistaken for a grocery store employee.