What is obvious in your profession that others may not know?

I’m a criminal defense attorney, and there’s two things that are obvious to me which others may not know:

1. If you are arrested and brought to a police station and put into an empty room, you are almost certainly being recorded, and the law says that you have no expectation of privacy. (In other words, don’t mumble that you killed her, as one of my clients did). All jail calls are recorded, too - don’t talk about your case on the phone (“I should have just called a cab at the bar!” - No!!)

2. The reason that it is recommended that you always have a lawyer with you when you are being questioned is because lawyers understand that agreeing to answer any one question does not obligate you to answer any other question, and that you can decide to stop answering questions at any time. That’s it, really. We don’t otherwise have magic powers over interrogators.

What about you? What have you come to learn or understand by virtue of your job/career that us other people might not realize or have considered?

1. Nobody remembers their passwords.
  2. People protect the wrong things (e.g - carefully filing away their software discs, but losing the license codes).
  3. ISP’s will wreck your computer given half a chance.
  4. People only care about their data after it is gone.
  5. People think that hardware is immortal. I know better.

Not only that mainframes still exist, but that IBM puts out new ones every couple of years and we get them.

The worst aspect of prison is boredom not violence.

People lie constantly.

Most patents are worthless.

There is no line.
Eva Luna, **Immigration Paralegal

My company employs over 50,000 people. No, I don’t know your friend Bob that works in accounting.

I can tell the brand of a naked pair of server cabinet rails instantly, if not the exact model.