What is Prevx? Salvation or scam?

It prevents, detects, and fixes everything bad on your computer and it’s free. If it works, Symantec and MacAfee are doomed. Sounds too good to be true:

Anyone know anything about Prevx?

Well, the company is legit, apparently. I’ve seen them mentioned positively in ZDNet:
http://news.zdnet.co.uk/internet/security/0,39020375,39118610,00.htm

As a computing professional, I skimmed the URL you provided and the ZDNet article, and my feeling is that Prevx probably works, but like any security measure, doesn’t work 100% of the time.
As an anal-retentive computer security Nazi though, I think the fundamental idea behind Prevx is brilliant. I’ll point out that if they want it to
A) stop the bad stuff and
B) not overly restrict the good stuff,
then their development costs are going to be substantial.

Hard to say if the ZDnet link is talking about the same product. There are three references to “Pervex” [sic] (a pervert prevention system? :dubious: ) and the price of the discussed product is £4,000, not free as my original link.

I have 256MB of writable memory, called RAM. ALL programs outside of ROM execute from there.

If XP separates memory allocations into R/W and (R/W but non-execute) sections, this scheme might work. I don’t know if XP does, but if so, why hasn’t Symantec hopped on this bandwagon? Or Intel, putting the code in the CPU hardware? Or for that matter, why can’t a simple hook be built into the Opsys, like used to be in VAXes, to segegate mem allocations?

Outside of CPU internals, code would have to trap each opcode to (1) see if it was an execute-type instruction, and (2) if it was in or out of properly allocated RAM blocks. This would have considerable overhead outside of microcoding, not to mention exception handling.

Ever heared about the Zero Day attack?