What is sprituality?

I am a collage student, studying a course entitled, ‘Study of Religions’. We study this from a non religious point of view and take the more curious approach.

As part of my assignment I have been asked to approach friends, family and others and ask them what the term ‘spirituality’ means to them.

I thought if I done this exercise over the internet I would get a wider range of views from people of all different walks of life.

Also if anyone has any ideas or views on:

Why has the term ‘spirituality’ become popular?

What is the relationship between ‘religion’ and ‘spirituality’?

Has there been a spiritual revolution?

I would be very greatful and interested in any insight or input on this subject.

Many thanks

De

Well, for me, spirituality means a belief that there is something otherworldly at work, and one’s belief in such. Whether that thing be a single God, multiple spirits or what have you, it doesn’t really matter, what matter’s is the belief in something outside the realms of science and logic that kind of help guide things in life and the movings of the world/universe.

Religion is the stepping stone that helps one achieve a greater sense of spirituality and helps one get close to whatever it is they feel they’re guided towards. For example, if you believe in God, and that you’re role in life is to gain a better understanding of what he/she/it wants for you out of this life and how to live it, then you’ve got hundreds of different religions that can help you out. To me, there is no one specific right, just many different avenues to travel to help get you to the appropriate destination.

Spirituality exists outside of religion. As does faith. Faith and spirituality are more connected and unified…religion is just a tool that one can either use as a fulcrum to focus their spirituality, or do without completely. some people use it as a crutch, some people let it overshadow their spirituality, and others ignore it completely.