What is the correct way to pronounce SAP?

Is there a correct way to pronounce the name of the ERP software SAP? It seems like the majority of my coworkers pronounce the letters S-A-P each individually, but a few use the word sap (like what comes out of a tree). Is there a right or wrong way to say it, or are both possibly correct/acceptable?

Both are valid; I’ve been a SAP consultant for 9 years, and IME multilinguals and British people almost always pronounce it “sap” while many Americans will spell it out. Indians go both ways. I haven’t worked with people from other English-speaking countries, so I don’t have anec-data for them.

Some of the people who spell it out will spell it out when it’s the program but not when it’s the company that makes it (they say SAP AG as “sap a-g,” spelling out the AG). There’s the occasional multilingual who will spell it out in English but pronounce it as a whole word in whichever other languages he uses.

The reason given for spelling it out always seems to be “to avoid confusing it with a tree’s sap,” but nobody can go beyond that when those of us who don’t spell it out ask for examples of a situation in which such a confusion might arise.

This problem only seems to crop up in English, in any other language including German people say “sap”.

“Sap” is slang for a dupe or fool, which may explain why many people pronounce the letters.

It’s mostly pronounced, not spelled out, in South Africa.

Since the question is specifically about the correct way to pronounce it, the answer is to spell it out. Although a lot of people (including employees) do pronounce it as a word, that’s strictly speaking not correct. The organisation has a whole team of people whose job is to spell out (oooh a pun, kind of) exactly what things should be called and what abbreviations are acceptable use and what aren’t. S-A-P is the correct way.