What is your average length of employment?

For the purposes of this poll:

Subtract the age at which you started working from your current age, then divide by the number of employers you’ve had in your life.

Counting only jobs since I graduated from university - 7 years

Your formula works OK for me, as I have no periods of unemployment to consider, but it could matter to others. Maybe adding up all your lengths of service and dividing by number of jobs would work better?

I’m not going to try that formula, because I took several years out for childrearing and two years out for studying (I worked the other studying years), and some of the jobs were never meant to be long-term either.

But someone here recently described his deadbeat sister, including the line ‘never held down a job for more than two years,’ and I though oh my God, that’s me! It must average out to less than a year.

Do we count student jobs and holiday jobs? If so, 2 1/2 years. But that’s a bit complicated, because there’s overlap. If we’re counting “professional” jobs…hmm, not much different actually. 3 years.

Is there a purpose behind the poll, or just for fun?

Missed the edit window while I was building the poll.

PLEASE SUBTRACT ANY YEAR(S) OF UNEMPLOYMENT OR SCHOOLING FROM YOUR TOTAL YEARS OF SERVICE.

(thanks, one and only)
mmm

Just for fun.

With that in mind, lets not over-complicate the formula; go with what feels right.

The equation doesn’t work well for me. I got 6 months or less. But I always have multiple jobs (5 at the moment); I only quit one job I’ve had in under 6 months, and all others I worked at least a few months over 1 year. Currently I’ve been employed at one of my current jobs for 4 years, and another for 3.

This poll will be skewed by the weighted avg. age of those responding to the poll.

I did lots of house-sitting in HS and I worked some low pay jobs for the UofI but they were all of the short-term/odd job variety. I only counted employers who sent me W2’s.