What kind of programming questions can you expect on an interview?

When you go on a job interview for a programming job, what are some of the scenarios you may be asked to mock up on a chalk or dry-erase board?

This is a question for interview givers and former interviewees alike.

I am a senior systems analyst for a mega-corp who does lots of interviewing. My interviewing style to to allow absolutely no BS on either side. We just talk and the interview goes where it goes. I will ask for clarification if something is too vague or if it seems an applicant is exaggerating or outright lying.

Afterwards, we give a written test that is so open ended that it is almost ridiculous yet it is very effective. We deal with many very large databases so much of it is about SQL. Applicants can answer the questions in any version of SQL that they want regardless if it is Microsoft products, Oracle, or others. The questions are very easy on their face but more in depth answers help. Answers can even be written in English if they want and syntax is mostly ignored.

We test for CONCEPTS with the idea being that anyone can whip out a manual to find proper syntax and weird tricks aren’t that transferable. I am the one who “grades” these tests for a group of about 500 people. I put that in quotes because there is no answer key or minimum score. It is just based on my impressions of mastery which are very generous on their own. After all of those allowances, the failure rate is above 80% and this is for people that claim database mastery and ten years of experience. It is shocking really. We give them every chance to pass and want them to and many can’t even explain the basics of how a join works.