What makes you buy an ebook?

I’m an author (self-published), and I’m trying a few different tactics for marketing my novel. I expect most of the sales to be ebooks, so I’m wondering how ebook readers typically make decisions to buy or not to buy a given book. So I have a few questions:

How much attention and credence to you give to reader reviews?

How important is the price of the ebook, and how much more likely are you to buy an ebook if it’s cheaper (say, $1 vs $3)?

How to you browse/search for ebooks? How does an ebook catch your eye?

How often and how likely are you to buy an ebook that you know nothing about except what you read online (blurb, customer reviews, etc)?

I buy a ton of ebooks, through Amazon.com.

How much attention and credence to you give to reader reviews?
- I do pay attention them, but they have to be valid. A review that says, “This is great! Okay, I didn’t read the book, but I like the cover!” is useless to me. Similarly, “This book sucks because I hate science fiction” won’t sway me. But if the reviewers all agree that there are problems with proofreading or something, that will definitely make me not want to buy the book. Negative reviews based on subjective matters like how good the story are taken into consideration, but I don’t weigh them too heavily.

How important is the price of the ebook, and how much more likely are you to buy an ebook if it’s cheaper (say, $1 vs $3)?
- It is very important to me. I’m not saying authors don’t deserve more for their books, but there are a lot of great books on Amazon for very cheap or free. So unfortunately, I’m unlikely to pay $3+ unless I really want that particular book for some reason. If the book is $1 then I’m very likely to at least give it a try.

How to you browse/search for ebooks? How does an ebook catch your eye?