what should a young man wear for a job interview for a bank customer service job?

My son is 27, and holds a degree in Business Management, but in this horrible economy, he is still looking for a decent job.

He has an interview next week for a customer service position at a bank. It’s not exactly what he’d hoped for as he was studying for his degree, but as I have advised him, it’s at least a decent wage, and there is a chance to advance, unlike in his current retail job.

How should he dress? He’s not, after all, applying for a managerial position, but banks being a generally conservative business environment, I’m not sure if he should wear a conservative suit, or business casual, such as khakis, button up, and a tie.

What do you guys think?

For the record, I’m a residential builder since 1982, so I’m not much help for him in this respect.

I don’t think you can go wrong with a suit and tie.

FWIW, every man in my family was in the trades (plasterers, machinists and carpenters), but I was always told it was FAR better to overdress for a job interview rather than under. Wearing a suit shows a certain seriousness you take the job with. I wore a suit when I applied for a job in the Education training department at my university (sorta officey, not quite teaching job), and also when I applied for a job at Radio Shack. I got both of them. I definitely think a bank job is more formal than the 'shack!

Suit, without question in my opinion.
Dark suit, white shirt (well pressed), yellow, red or blue tie, balck shoes - for the love of GOD don’t let him wear brown shoes with a grey suit.

I agree, suit and tie. I think it’s a sign of respect to the interviewer, and I think it’s better to be a little overdressed than underdressed for a job interview. Banking is also a rather conservative industry; they are asking the public to entrust their money to them.