What skill should I learn? (in 10 days)

I have some mandatory vacation coming up and absolutely nothing to fill it with. Since I don’t want to feel like I’ve wasted my time I’d like to fill it doing something useful. I don’t have a ton of money and I don’t want to travel so I think I’d like to learn a new skill.

I looked over the thread about 50 skills everyone should know, and I have most of that list covered. I’m looking for some suggestions about skills I could teach myself. I’ve considered everything from knitting, to juggling, to learning Mandarin Chinese, but I’d love to hear some suggestions.

The only qualifications are a regularly low start up cost to learn (under $100), and something that can be self taught in about 80 hours (8 hours/day for ten days). The more useful the skill the better, but I’m open for just about anything. Also a basic understanding is fine, I don’t need to master, the skill just have a decent base of knowledge.

So what’dya got for me?

flipping cards into a hat

it’s all in the wrist

I’m told that the accordion is very popular, and will get you laid.

Do you know Excel?

You make me laugh with this “mandatory vacation” business. Do you not want the time off? Since you’re being forced into it anyway, take up bicycle repair, and then fix my bike.

Magic. Learn a few good tricks and practice them well. Instant fun in any social gathering. At work, some of your coworkers will admire you, others will be entertained, others will be convinced you have made a pact with the Devil and cross themselves whenever you come near.

Apparently, you don’t know how yet.

Learn how to tie a variety of knots, including when and how to use them.

Learn to do slight-of-hand magic tricks. I did exactly that a few years ago on vacation. It cost about $25 for a book and some cards. Then I just practiced for hours.