What were your first purchases with your first ever credit card?

I thought about this while I was reading the IMHO ‘help my use my new credit card wisely’ thread, so here I am, starting another “pointless” spinoff. :smiley:

To be complete… the first major or bank credit card you ever owned, visa/master/amex/discover or thereabouts, what were the first two or three financial transactions you used it for? :]

I got my mastercard after I’d been at my job as a web programmer for two months or so. And the first things I ordered with it were:

• a book off of chapters-indigo, “Mastering Active Server Pages”,
  • a CD, carolyn dawn johnson’s ‘room with a view.’ (My gawd, has it really been more than three years that I’ve owned that album? :wink: )
  • a startup payment on an ASP web hosting provider, brinkster, for personal learning purposes.

Looking back, I have to say that I’m pleased with those purchases. I’m not with brinkster any more (cost cutting,) but it was a good service at the time. I still love the album and though I don’t refer to the book much anymore, I learned an awful lot from it!! :slight_smile: (I’d actually gotten that same book out of the library to take to work my first day, and was feeling lost without it when I returned it to the library three weeks later. That’s when I knew I needed to buy my own copy, LOL.)

I’m the OP of said thread and I’ve yet to use it. (it’s a Visa)

I’ll probably break it in at Border’s or Amazon on a Deep Space Nine book since, as one poster in the thread said, if it sits in my wallet unused, it isn’t helping my credit.

My first purchase with my spanking-new Visa was a giant stack of textbooks for school.

I know, I’m boring.

I really don’t remember #s 2 & 3, but the first was done with a cash advance. It was a Peavey Mk. IV bass amp, a speaker box with 2 12" speakers and a Fender Precision bass.