What's a good Shortwave (world band) radio

Any shortwave radio experts out there? I want to buy a small shortwave radio (probably Grundig, but I am open to others) and want to be sure that it will be able to pull in broadcasts from India (I live in Switzerland). I have never used shortwave and don’t know much about it, but am under the impression that not just any SW radio will be able to do this.

Can anyone advise me how powerful (i.e. expensive) a radio I would need, and for that matter, any particular models?

While we are at it, anyone know of a website with a really good list of worldband broadcast frequencies?

I’m not an expert, but I am a fan and owner of a shortwave radio!

I’ve got a Realistic DX-440 that I’m very fond of. I just attach a single long-wire antenna to the stock antenna (this one), and it pulls in whatever can be pulled in at a given time of the day and weather!

The UK publication Radio Listener’s Guide carries out independent tests on SW radios. I cannot lay my hands on my copy at the moment but , from memory , the Sony range of radios comes out best . Other ones to consider are Grundig if you can still get them ( the firm went bust last year ) and Roberts Radio . Expect to pay from €300-500 for a good model .

I have in front of me a Sony ICF SW-100. It’s served me very well over the past two years, apart from various casing and ribbon cable design faults and general clumsy idiocy on my part. I use it with an active antenna, and this greatly enhances its performance. It has digital tuning and a huge store for presets. The amazing thing is how small it is - about the size of a cigarette packet.

However, the one I covet is the ICF SW-07, which has much more modern technology onboard as well as annually replacable ROMs that have the major stations on them broken down by area and time of day. Nnnnice. I’ll never be able to justify the expense, alas.