Whats going on with my Nord VPN?

I have an subscription to Nord VPN. I often leave it connected but there are some sites like Wikipedia that don’t like working with a Nord server. So I disconnected it a couple of days ago.

I tried to re-connect today and I’m getting a message telling me “NordVPN background process in not running” which I have never seen before. It won’t let me connect unless I agree to let it start this process but if I click the button a window pops up that warns me this will make changes to my device, something I am wary about letting them do.

In what may be a related issue, Nord is constantly telling me I need to install upgrades. And I always decline.

So what’s going on? Is this a complete scam where somebody is pretending to be Nord and trying to get into my computer? Is it Nord trying to get into my computer in a way I shouldn’t let them do? Is there a way I can work around this and connect to Nord the way I always have in the past? Or should I just stop worrying and let in make the changes it wants to make?

What kind of computer is this?

On Windows, if you use the NordVPN software you will periodically be pushed an upgrade. Is there a reason you don’t want it?

You can also just install a generic open source client like OpenVPN and use the NordVPN config files, bypassing their software completely.

I’d also like to add that you are using a VPN for your own reasons, you are now entrusting the VPN provider with your traffic. If you question that trust, why bother?

My basic principle with “upgrades” is that things are working now. So I don’t want to make any changes.

I think my current situation demonstrates the validity of this belief. Last week, I had a VPN that worked. Somebody made a change. Now I don’t have a working VPN. I would be better off if everything had just been left alone.