What's going to happen when I upgrade my computer?

I’ve bought some new hardware for my computer (an HP pavillion a1730n) to stave off replacing it for a while longer, and I intend to install it tonight with the help of a somewhat more knowledgeable person: ram, a video card, a sound card, and an internal DVD writer. I’m a novice at this, but I’m pretty sure I can handle it given I’ve helped him install some of these things before, and the back up plan is to bring anything I can’t get to work properly to a professional.

However… everything but the ram will need drivers/install software, and I’m a little concerned about what happens when I turn the computer back on: will the visual output work properly if the software for the audio card or DVD writer demands attention before the drivers for the new video card are squared away? Perhaps I’m worrying for no reason given that there’s an integrated card in the computer now - will the computer even try to access the video card instead before I install the drivers for it?

There is a generic video driver already on most computers. It often looks like crap but it will let you do what you need to do until you get the real drivers installed.

Don’t worry about the DVD writer. Windows will automatically detect it. You may need to install the DVD writing software that comes with it.