What's in a (college/university) Name?

Will I get a better job, or choice of jobs, or more phone calls for interviews, if my resume shows I got my degree from the old, expensive, private univerity vs the community college?
Yeah, I know this isn’t a Great Debate…(but in my head it is---- as I ponder the $20K I’ll pay back for the student loans).

This probably should be in IMHO. But it is a good question. I’ve worked for well known, big, companies, and they all limit recruiting to a select set of better known colleges in their field. Most will look at resumes from everywhere, but those from better known and ranked places have an edge. That is certainly not true for every job. What will you be majoring in, and where do you see yourself working?

You have a better chance of an interview with better brand on the resume. Some firms ONLY interview at the top schools as well.

Best of luck.

Well, considering that the only degree most community colleges offer is an Associate’s degree, and most old, expensive, private colleges don’t offer two-year degrees at all, there’s a certain element of comparing apples to oranges in the question as it’s worded. If you’re asking whether two years at the community college + two years at old, expensive private university will look worse than four years at old, expensive private university, the answer is probably no, assuming the credits transfer properly and the standard of education at the community college is high enough that you’re not completely lost at the private college. (You may, of course, be missing out on a few opportunities to meet potential mentors and to tap into the peer networks that can get you a job after you graduate, which is part of what you’re paying for at a selective university, but that’s another issue.) You don’t even have to list the community college on your resume.