What's the coolest airplane you've been on?

I’m a private pilot, and sometimes get to ride in cool airplanes. I haven’t been in anything really unusual yet, although I expect to. The best so far was a 1969 Piper Comanche.

A friend of mine took a ride in a B-17, and pronounced it awesome.

I’ve always wanted to go on the Concorde, and was planning to until they grounded them last year. Has anyone ridden it?

My fantasy however, is the SR-71 Blackbird. 80,000 feet, and something like Mach 3. Not much chance of that one though.

OK, your turn. Make me jealous.

A few actually:

TravelAir 4000 biplane skywriter.
DeHaviland Beaver
Piper Cub on floats (off the Mississippi River, no less)

P-3 Orion (approx 5000hrs; mostly in the P-3C, but I am partial to the VP-3A for ultimate comfort).

What other aircraft can you roll your sleeping bag out and rest undisturbed until it’s time for a steak dinner? Try that on any commercial aircraft and see where it gets you.

Any one I happen to be flying at the time. :wink:

When I was a kid my mom used to work at MYF and there was a DC-3 giving rides. I went up in it and it was very cool.

A Ford Trimotor, on a Boy Scouts camping trip to an island in Lake Erie. Rattly, drafty, gawdawful slow, even a little worrying when over the water, and I loved it. I really wish I’d bought that “Island Airways - World’s Shortest Airline” flight bag.

Coolest airplane, though? Any time I fly for the first time in a plane with engine components I’ve designed, that plane gets my vote.

Of course among light aircraft, nothing is cooler than a helicopter! :smiley:

I was on an F-14 Tomcat once. It was parked on the tarmac at an air show. But I was ON it.

Among flying things, I got to do some treetop, swoop-down-the-river flying in a Huey, and that, my friends, was just too awesome for words.