What's the current go-to for DIY home robotics? Plus cat lasers.

Just for fun, I want to make a cat-tracking laser turret.

I’ve never done anything like that before, and back in my day Lego Mindstorm was all the rage. Now, I’ve heard of Arduino and Kinect and I’m thinking of using those along with some servos and a laser pointer and fancy software. Would that be a good way to track a cat and shoot a laser in front of it in a semi-random pattern?

Or would the cool kids today use some other set of tools?

Strangely enough, my upstairs neighbor is a roboticist who’s building a cat-tracking laser pointer turret himself. His problem is that his cat blends into the floor so well that he’s hard to track (both are black).

Anyway, the “difficult” part is training the turret to recognize where the cat is and to shoot accordingly. This isn’t my field, so I can’t really help you, but here are some resources which may be useful to you.

Caltech’s intro machine learning course is online: Learning From Data - Online Course (MOOC)

Also check www.coursera.com . Coursera hosts Stanford’s online machine learning course, which is not as mathy as Caltech’s and far more practical, as well as a computer vision course which I haven’t taken.

Of course, if you happen to be my upstairs neighbor, you already know all of this.

Oh, also, unsupervised laser play risks damaging your cat’s eyes. Be careful.

That’s where the Kinect comes in. It seems like “see which projected dots are changing in a room with only one moving object” should be a simpler computational problem than “identify black pixels in image, determine catness”.

I don’t think any machine learning is required. Just code to say “oh yeah, these dots are moving… shoot the laser 10 ft in front of their averaged direction”

I very noble pursuit.

My cat would also like you to build a machine to make it spring outside.

The Lego kits are still widely used, but nowadays they’re called “NXT”, not “Mindstorms”.