Whats the relationship between Cotton Hill and Bobby Hill?

As a very recent convert to ‘King of the Hill,’ I’m still learning about the nuances of each character. I’ve seen tons of Bobby and plenty of Cotton, but don’t recall seeing the two of them interacting much. Whats their relationship like?

For the smart guy/gal getting ready to post it - yes, I realize Cotton is Bobby’s grandfather.

One episode showed Bobby trying to treat women like Cotton treats them and finding out how badly that goes over.

Presumably, none of the Hill men are affectionate to each other. “If you weren’t my son, I’d hug ya,” Hank has said to Bobby.

Cotton is fairly affectionate with Bobby. He feels that some things are wrong with Bobby, but that he’ll turn out okay.

In one episode we learn that Bobby calls Cotton “Ging Ging” and Cotton calls him “Bing Bing”.

In another Cotton admits that Hank is a better father “You raised Bobby. All I ever raised was you.”

In still another, Cotton is willing to go to prison in order to keep Bobby from being known as “Stinky” and enduring years of jokes.

Overall, Bobby and GH seem to be the only family members that Cotton tries to treat decently.

They’re just three generations of Texans, hope you don’t mind my rambling…

My impression is that Cotton grew up on a ranch during the Great Depression before he went to war as a teenager. He had it hard, his parents had it harder and he never had the luxury of seeing much affection as a kid, especially from the menfolk. He’s a hardass because that’s just how he learned to approach life. He yells at Hank and insults everybody else because everybody yelled at him when he was a kid. That’s just how you deal with people and how you get kids to get off their butts and grow up. Besides, you never know when they’re going to have their shins shot off, and they’re still going to have to go on living after that.