When asked who you're voting for...

… do you tell the truth, make up something silly, or insist that you value the secret ballot more than a pollster’s chosen profession?

I understand why opinion polls exist, but I hate them. I want to be able to lie straight-faced. But I’d probably just refuse to answer. Still I’d love to skew the results just because.

For the record, I’ve never been asked. Generally when a phone pollster calls, I tell them I’m not interested and I hang up. Yeah, I’m an old grouch. So sue me! :stuck_out_tongue:

My response is “I choose not to answer such a personal question. Is there any particular reason you ask?”

Of course, if it’s a pollster, there is a particular reason for asking, but still, it helps steer the convo in a different direction, or blows them off. Either one will work.

I’m tempted to say “Whoever you ARE NOT polling for”
but I usually hang up.

Brian

I’ve been asked in school (I’m a teacher), and I tell the kids that I don’t answer that question. (Same answer, btw, that I give when asked about other personal things; e.g. girlfriends, religious views, etc.)

What I’m dreading is someone from the family asking. Most in my family are moderate republicans (NE republicans, if you will); a few are staunch republicans. However, not a one of them would ever vote for a democrat. (Lieberman’s gotten praise, and they would have voted for him if there was a McCain / Lieberman ticket, but that’s about it.)

I answer the question truthfully if it’s a poster. Not because of any general integrity–I’ve been known to create long involved lies just to see how big I can blow the bubble before it pops–but because I feell that each poll result supporting Senator Obama hurts Senator McCain’'s campaign that much more.

As for my family, I tell them the truth because it astounds them so, and it’s fun to watch.