When is the best time to study abroad and where?

I am currently a junior in college. I have been debating when, where, and how to study abroad for many years and have still not come up with a conclusion. Obviously my time is drawing much closer to an end.

I have been thinking that maybe grad school abroad may be the best thing, but with the economy and the fact that I already have a decent amount of debt, I’m wondering what would be the best decision.

I feel as though study abroad would be an excellent experience that I should really take advantage of while I have the time. I just can’t figure out how I want to do it and if it will turn out to be a foolish financial decision in the long run.

I don’t know any other languages, except a smattering of German. I am majoring in Social Sciences and hope to possibly get a job in a museum or library setting or in some sort of restoration business.

Any advice? Anecdotes? Scholarship suggestions?

My only advice is to do it. Study abroad can be a life changing experience and travel will never be easier than when you are at university. If you are worried about language, go study in an English speaking country. The best way to start is probably to talk to your study abroad office at your college.

I gave this exact advice to my nephew and he hemmed and hawed and never did it and now he really regrets it. GO!

Do it. Absolutely. Do it now. Go to your study abroad office and look into second semester options.

I am a grad student and obviously I cannot speak for all grad programs, but no way could I study abroad at the moment - I am crazy busy here, taking classes I NEED for my degree. (Also, I am not in an academic program, I’m in for a professional Masters. Maybe if I were in a PhD program, I’d feel differently.) Undergrad is definitely the optimal time to do it.