When should a person take a threat of a lawsuit seriously?

A friend of mine is the administrator of a poetry message board that is affiliated with a nonprofit poetry organization.

The board has only two rules: One is essentially the same as the Dope’s rule “Don’t be a jerk.” The second is that all posters have to register under their own names.

A kid comes to the board, registers under a false name, trolls until he’s kicked off, and then the admin discovered that it was a false name.

The kid’s father claims to be a divorce lawyer and he says he’s going to sue the board and the admin personally for age discrimination and, I guess, general meanness, for a million dollars.

Now, she told me about it and I laughed. A lot. To me, it sounded completely ludicrous. But I am not a lawyer. He says he is.

With something like this, is there any sort of rule of thumb for when to consult a lawyer? Most of us can’t just run to a lawyer every time some dumbass on the internet starts to shriek, but most of us also can’t afford to get sued.

General insights or ones specific to this particular incident gratefully appreciated.
Edited to add: I’m calling him a kid. He’s 17. Man, I’m getting old. :smiley:

I’d say see a lawyer when the lawsuit gets filed. Until then it’s a bluff.

Agreed. You take it seriously when you get served. And even then, you only have to take it seriously long enough to pronounce “motion to dismiss.”

Lie. We had a similiar situation happen at the message board I’m part of. You didn’t make up the rule, the owner of the message board (ezboard, vbulletin, etc.)did. When this person signed up for the message board they had to check the little boxes, then click “I accept” to join the board. The person isn’t a lawyer or they’d know how stupid this is. Tell him to sue you, it might be fun.