Who is smarter, you or your SO?

I was thinking about this the other day, that in a lot of couples it seems there is ‘the smart one.’ The person who is labeled as smart is usually the one who you would pick to be on your team when you play a trivia game, or who you would call when you are on “Who Wants to be a Millionaire.” In our house, that would be me, I guess, but I think in most ways my husband is smarter than I am. This got me thinking a little about what we consider when we say a person is smart.

I had an easier time in school than my husband, I got good grades in most subjects, I knew how to study and take tests, I did well in things like standardized testing, I have a college degree. I can write and research a good paper. I am pretty good at trivia games and things like that. I can balance the checkbook and am better at handling the details. He had the opposite experience when it came to school.

If you look at things that really matter in day to day life though, I think my husband is smarter. He can look at anything mechanical and get an idea of how it works. He can take things apart and put them back together, he can fix almost anything. He just has a general sense of how to solve problems like fixing a car, a dryer, installing wiring for a house, plumbing, or new carpet. No one really taught him how to do these things. Even if he has never done it before, he will look at the problem or the item and come up with a solution that works, whether or not it is the textbook way to do it. So in the practical sense, he is always the one getting calls from family and friends to help them with something or to answer questions about anything from technology to home repair. He is the ‘go to’ guy. Yet I think if you asked people who was smarter, they would say me. My husband would say me, too. The only thing I get calls about is if someone needs to know the lyrics to some obscure tv theme song from the 80’s or something.