Why all the disclaimers about legal advice?

Like… why does everyone always seem so formal and whatnot when dealing with legal advice? If that disclaimer is not included, does it imply some sort of verbal contract…? Or something… and how come only lawyers, it seems, have to do that?

IANAL, but it seems to me, that as lawyers, they need to be particularly careful of what they say and how they say it. Giving legal advice without that disclaimer could conceivably open them up to either a lawsuit or possibly disbarment. “Well, X told me to do this, but I still wound up in jail”.

IANAL, but I am a paralegal. If I represent myself as a lawyer, then I’ve broken the law (as has any non-lawyer who represents him/herself as a lawyer). Same thing if I give legal advice. That’s why I always disclaim in any legal-related post.

Lawyers place a disclaimer to eliminate any possibility of establishing an attorney-client relationship with other posters and to insulate themselves from potential malpractice liability. If someone from these boards relied upon statements an attorney made on these boards and got a detrimental result, that person could come back to the attorney seeking damages for that detrimental reliance. Without the disclaimer, it makes it more difficult for the attorney to claim that s/he wasn’t acting in his/her capacity as an attorney and offering legal advice.

I’m sure one or more of our resident lawyers will be along momentarily to go into more specifics.

No need. You pretty much nailed it.
On second thought, there is one more reason (although you kinda touch on it). I’m licensed in one state, Illinois. I don’t want to be accused of practicing law in another state, in the event that’s where the OP is from.

Unlike other message boards, we also try to answer questions with factual answers. I would hate to think someone took MY advice as LAWYERLY advice. The results could be devestating.