Why are there so many Citation Styles?

As a college student, I am obviously frequently asked to write papers, and do bibliographies. In doing this, I have been forced to use at least four different citation styles, and cannot come up with a feasible reason WHY there needs to be so many! So far I’ve used the MLA, tha APA, the Scientific Citation Format, and the Chicago Style! I’m sure that once I graduate, I shall have happened upon dozens more. Could someone please explain to me the reason to have a seperate citation style, and why it is so important to use one particular one at particular times?

Thanks!

I’m assuming it’s just because there’s no absolute, overriding reason to pick one and stick with it.

Kind of like human languages.

In graduate school every class required the use of APA style.

To make editors’s and students’s lives miserable of course!

There aren’t dozens more. You’ve yet to encounter the Vancouver style and a few more but rest assured there are not dozens. Sometimes it makes sense to use one rather than the other but why so many evolved is beyond me.

The main reason is that occasionally some disciplines decide to change their style for their own benefit. The one I am most familiar with, mathematics, used to footnote citations until about 1945. Typesetters hate footnotes and charge extra for it. I don’t know if that was the reason but about the end of WWII, a few papers began to use a style of using numbered references that were cited by a number in brackets: [1]. This was much less informative, but by 1950 it had taken over completely. Now a few people are experimenting with citations of the form [Author, date], which is very informative, even it does take up a bit more space. This is standard in linguistics and presumably some other disciplines. So the basic reason is that each discipline sets its own style and there is a lot of momentum against change.