Why do I have a subscription to Field and Stream?

I live in Cambridge, Massachusetts. I grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The state has a large hunting culture, but it’s not as common in the cities and I didn’t come from a hunting family. I’ve never gone hunting. I’ve fired a gun exactly once.

Why, then, did an issue of Field and Stream appear in my mailbox with my name and address on it? My dad is fond of giving me magazine subscriptions as gifts, and my birthday wasn’t too long ago, but Dad says he’s not the responsible party. Likewise my friend Desi, who owns the one gun I’ve ever shot and has a wicked sense of humor. My boyfriend says it wasn’t him. Not Mom, not my brother, not any of the friends or family I’ve asked so far. There’s nothing to suggest it’s a free issue they sent to convince me to subscribe. They’d be pretty foolish to target Cambridge for subscribers, anyway.

I’m not upset, I’m just befuddled. :confused: Who did this, and why?

Honestly, the most confusing part is that I am interested in possibly becoming a deer hunter after I move to Illinois, so I’m actually glad to have the subscription, but I haven’t mentioned my secret lust for fresh venison to anyone. Someone is reading my mind and buying me annonymous magazine subscriptions!

I’ve had that happen to me in the past with a couple different magazines. Last time it happened, I looked up the magazine’s customer service number and called. They said they had sent out magazines to some number of random people as some kind of promotion. They said I would receive one more but that would be it. No bill or subscription notice would come with the magazines.

I had been freaking out a littie; I thought someone had gotten my name and address and ordered a bunch of magazines in my name.

No answer to your question, but if Pat McManus is still/again writing humor for Field and Stream, the subscription is definitely worth it! And that’s in in my sub-urban, non-hunting/fishing, IN-doorsy opinion.