Why does a Boeing 737 have a tail pipe (exhaust)?

I noticed this while taxiing around an airport a few days ago and couldn’t figure out why 737’s seem to have an exhaust pipe at the back of the plane. I had a hard time finding a photo of the back of a 737 but here is one that kinda shows it.

It doesn’t seem that all planes have this but frankly I forgot to take a quick survey of other planes as I was tooling about the airport. The exhaust pipe seemed fairly large as if there was a sizeable engine attached to it. However, the engines on the 737 are on the wings and I can’t see the point of ducting exhaust through the plane and out the tail. Then again, I’m no aviation engineer so what do I know? Basically nothing as far as this is concerned and obviously the Boeing engineers saw fit to have this here so I’m sure it serves a necessary and useful purpose. I’m just curious as to what that purpose is.

I work for a company who’s name rhymes with Owing, although not in the airliner part.

I’d guess that it’s the exhaust for the APU (auxiliary power unit). This is a small gas turbine that provides energy for the aircraft systems when the main engines are not running. Sometimes they’re located in the area of the nose wheel gear, sometimes in the tail section.

OK,
I just confirmed on the company web site that the APU on the 737 is located in the tailcone.

Quote “An APU is a small gas turbine engine located in the tailcone of all current production aircraft. The primary job of the APU is to provide pneumatic power (for air conditioning and main engine starting) and electrical power during ground operations. Most models can also be started in-flight to be used for back-up electrical power.”

Thanks GaryM.

I had considered the APU but for two things: