Why Doesn't Congress Subpoena Trump's Tax Docs?

I am no political scientist, so can someone explain why Congress is not (or, cannot?) subpoena Trump’s taxes for the last seven years? And, if Congress could if they wanted, why is there all this pussyfooting around?

Someone will come up with a more direct and precise answer, but I’ll tell you the real answer: because they really don’t want to.

They view this as a slippery slope. And if we get used to seeing the tax returns of politicians, Congress will be up next, and they don’t want that.

Can they? Yes (though it sounds like it may not be technically a subpoena):

It does not look like such a request has yet been submitted to Treasury, though I think it’s inevitable that it will happen. It sounds like the delay is, in large part, because (as both of the above articles note) one can undoubtedly expect it to kick off a legal fight. The Post article above quotes Nancy Pelosi: “We have to be very, very careful as we go forward. It’s not an issue of just sending a letter. You have to do it in a very careful way.” It also quotes House Ways and Means Chairman Richard Neal (who would be the author of such a request) as saying that it would touch off a “long and arduous” court case.

I can’t answer your second question. But, under 26 USC 6103(f), the respective chairs of the Committee on Ways and Means (of the House); Committee on Finance (of the Senate); or Joint Committee on Taxation has the authority to obtain tax returns and other information from the Treasury Department for any taxpayer. Those committees have a broad ability to transmit information from those returns to the House and Senate generally. It is unclear (and debated) whether members of Congress could release the information publicly (or whether it would be, in fact, a crime).

I doubt you can do stuff like this just because you don’t like someone.

You need a fact or piece of information that shows that something exists or is true.