Why weren't Syrian Refugees accepted any other Islamic countries?

My heart goes out for refugees as a whole.
But I had no answer to this question posed by a friend at work.
He was asking why the very rich Arab Emirates, Saudi or Kuwait who are right next door did not lift a finger to help those poor souls.
Or populous almost 100% Islamic nations such as Indonesia, Pakistan or Bangladesh.
I am not an expert on Islamic thought processes and divisions so I am asking the experts here.

First of all, did they? I suspect it’s more likely that they did, and there are just too many refugees for them to take all of them.

I have been asking around. The general consensus is that except Turkey no others extended a helping hand. The other heartbreaking thing I heard which of course cannot be verified is that a lot of people who were not actually Syrian managed to slip through to countries like Germany earning them the title of economic refugees. An Eritrean friend of mine did that. The civil war decimated his people. Somehow obtained a tourist visa to Hungary. Greased palms at the Hungarian border and slipped into Austria. Then to Rome and finally Canada. One of the most hardworking people I know.

Where do you ask this question around? The local VFW? Here’s a good place to start:

I admit I have not inquired officially.
My neighbors are Syrian refugees. Even they have no idea.
Their answer was typical. Only people in high places have the answers.
Hence my question.

Well, you can’t get people in higher places than those who post on this message board, so this is certainly the right place to ask.

My reasons exactly.
Even looking at the stats provided by Munch it is obvious that the maximum number went to Germany and only a trickle managed to reach other arab nations.
I was looking at old news reports there is pretty much no comment from these nations about the refugee crisis or anything about them lending a helping hand.