Why will you throw up if you drink a gallon of milk in an hour?

A lot of people seem to think this is a myth, but I’ve actually tried to drink a gallon of milk in an hour (I was a college freshman), and about 3/4 of the way down with about 20 minutes left, I was throwing it all up. I have absolutely no idea why, so I’m just throwing this out there for anyone with some ideas.

How much volume does your stomach hold, before it’s had time to digest? Maybe you fill your stomach up. I’ll try it with beer tonite.

We live in an age that reads to much to be wise, and thinks too much to be beautiful–Oscar Wilde

College? And you’re trying to see how much MILK you can drink in an hour?

That is appalling. Next time mix some Kahlua into it. And some vodka. And follow it with some bourbon. And some cheap wine. Then, my friend, you will have something to throw up.

Hurling off milk. What has gotten into these kids today?

Dr. Fidelius, Charlatan
Associate Curator Anomalous Paleontology, Miskatonic University
“You cannot reason a man out of a position he did not reach through reason.”

Well, not to mention the capacity problem, but your stomach has ACID in it, and a large amount of a base substance (milk, ammonia, baking soda) will cause a chemical reaction, and cause a large amount of gas buildup. You would think you would just burp, but (I’m guessing) the sheer stress on your stomache makes it easier to vomit than belch.

I’ve had to drink half a gallon of water in an hour a couple of times before getting an ultrasound and it made me feel queasy. I would think a gallon of anything would do it.

You’re probably right Cher. but adding in the chemical reaction probably doesn’t help. So I guess you have your answer. Nausea from the amount, and vomit due to the chemicals. Sounds like a reason to me…