WiFi Home Network problems - any ideas?

I have been using Verizon FiOS for internet, phone and TV for over 3 years now, and mostly it’s been great. However, when things go bad with Verizon, dealing with their tech support is an exercise in frustration of all kinds…

For the past week or so, my Verizon-provided Actiontec MI424WR router has been going dead on the wireless access… But the router status light doesn’t indicate so. If I reboot the router, or even just log in to the router at http://192.168.1.1 and toggle the Wireless off and then back on, my wireless network comes back to life… But within 5 minutes tops, usually within just 1 minute, it goes dead again. It’s not an issue of range, this is true even if I sit with my iPad 2 or 3 feet away from the router.

The router’s “Wireless” light is blinking green the whole time, but none of my wireless devices can see each other in a home network, nor access the Internet through the router. I’ve checked the internal log file and there is no record of my ping requests reaching the router (using Speedtest).

The wireless traffic comes up and goes through every now and then, sporadically, but very briefly. The wired ethernet connections work fine. Too bad for me my only printer is a wireless one, and my kids only have wireless laptops!

I’ve spent 4-5 rounds with Verizon tech support, I’ve changed my Wireless channel from 1 to 11, hard reset my router any number of times and even had my ONT rebooted (“just to see what happens”), and swapped out my router twice, including upgrading the router to “the latest model” (from Rev F to Rev I with two antennas).