Winsor Pilates.... any good?

My girl really wants to lose some weight… she’s thinking of picking up the winsor pilates tapes next month.

Has anyone done these? How effective are they for toning or weight loss?

Thanks folks!

I’m only a beginner, having taken just one session with a dance instructor, but it could very well work if she sticks to it. The instructor said he weighed 208 pounds when he started Pilates and now his weight has gone down to 176. He has no idea how it happened, but what the heck–it worked!
At the very least, she will have more flexibility and less pain in her life. Nothing wrong with that.

Like with any exercise program, the results are 75% diet. But there are definitely worse ways to attempt to get into shape.

Small hijack,
Does Pilates involve some sort of exersice machine or other special equiptment, or is it like yoga or something?

I’ve always avoided it because it seems like every single video I pick up requires some sort of ball or band or some extra cost. The videos sort of seem like a scam, especially since I’ve heard you don’t really get the full benefits of Pilates doing it outside a classroom area (you might be doing the excercises wrong, etc.)

YMMV, of course.

Winsor Pilates does not require any machine, equipment, ball or band as it’s all mat work. The instructor explains a modified version of almost every excercise and is constantly asking you to check if your body is in the correct position so you can avoid muscle strain or back injury. Pilates focuses a lot of attention on strengthening the power house (abs) so be prepared for a sore tummy even after a 20 min workout. I like Pilates because I feel more like I’m doing yoga than excercising. I come away from it feeling lighter and limber and even though a bit sore I feel full of energy. I wouldn’t say it’s the best program for losing lots of weight, but it does increase ab strength and flexibilty which can’t be bad.