Wireless carriers - how to know it will work at my house

I am new to smart phones so be kind.
Here is the question I think. What is the difference between the wireless carrier and using the cell phone towers of that carrier?
I have a Jitterbug cell phone. It just makes and receives calls. Yes the old folks phone. It works fine in my house and at work just a mile or so away. I also have a land line. the Jitterbug is using Verizon as the carrier. I thought I would economise and get rid of Jitterbug and land line and get a smart phone. I ordered one from AAA that offered a special for members. It was a HTC rhyme. It is lovely and I had little trouble setting up and understanding it. BUT when I called my friend and walked around the house it broke up and we had trouble hearing each other. It did better on the porch but not much. This HTC was from Affinity Cellular. I called them and asked what carrier and they told me they used Verizon towers. But it is not working as well as the Jitterbug. Is it the phone or the carrier? I will not buy a phone that does not have reception in my kitchen but how will I know?

It’s probably because the resellers like Straight Talk and Jitterbug get the lowest priority on Verizon’s network. Meaning the signal will be weakest for those types of phones and will be the first to get bumped off during peak call times.

Is it wifi-capable? I have the same problem at my house, but wifi calling solved it.

Yes I have Wifi. Please explain

At a risk of being pedantic, there are two components here–the signal from the tower to the cell phone, and the data stream from the cell site to the rest of the network (nowadays, voice is just part of the datastream).