Wisdom Teeth (pain killer substitute)

So, I get my wisdom teeth out tomorrow morning. I fear the doctor will prescribe Tylenol 3 for me. I have a aversion to taking any Tylenol because I’ve heard story’s of liver failure in people who drink heavily. Now, I don’t drink too much (more than many, but I’m a student); although this summer has been rather intense. I would rather not take Tylenol, but is there anything else I can ask for? A (crack head) friend of mine told me to ask for Perkasets (and then she asked me to share them with her?!). Is there another painkiller I can ask for and actually get (Codeine)? What should I say when I decline the Tylenol? Is it a rational fear about the Tylenol causing liver failure?

cheers, and I would appreciate any prayers I can get from you all

Heh…Just tell the man/woman who is extracting your teeth that you are a raving alcoholic…and they should know not to prescribe tylenol.

…Otherwise, simply be smart and lay off the booze for a day or two whilst you recooperate from your small surgery. You’ll be fine…just avoid getting dry-socket and you will prevail a winner. Oh and a cite for dry-socket should be given… :slight_smile: good luck :slight_smile:

I don’t know how he’d react to you telling him you drink heavily, but you could just be honest and say ‘i drink alot and don’t want anything with tylenol in it’. there are other combos (NSAIDs with an OTC analgesic, which is what tylenol-3s are) out there you can try. Percodan for example. Ask for percodan, that is aspirin & oxycodone.

Perkoset contains 325mg tylenol per tablet according to what i just looked up.

The Master speaks on the Tylenol/Liver issue.

When I had my wisdom teeth out, I was given vicodin, which contains hydrocodone bitartrate* 5 mg and acetaminophen 500 mg.

My son had his out last week and was given percocet. Acetaminophen: 500 mg
Oxycodone HCl (WARNING: May be habit forming): 5 mg*