Wood treatment advice, please.

Hi folks. I just got a new desk top from Ikea (one of these) and I’m wondering how to protect it.

It says that it’s treated with oil of some sort, but I kinda think it needs something more. I’ve noticed that after a week or so of use there is a rough spot developing when my hand/wrist rest to use my mouse. I don’t know what exactly is causing it (mouse friction or skin oil), but I kinda want it to stop.

I went to Home Depot and there are a bewildering array of different products for protecting wood, but I’m a noob and I don’t know what to get. :smack:

So, what I want is something that isn’t hard to apply and will protect my desk top from things like abrasion and oils and coffee rings.

Thanks!
MDSL

Usually, oiled wood is protected using mineral oil. (We use it on our wooden cutting boards and wooden utensils like spoons and salad tongs.) It’s pretty cheap. Just pour a little bit onto the wood and rub it in with a paper towel or rag. If the oil seems to schluck right into the wood and get absorbed, then add a little more oil, and rub again.

A mousepad might help, too.

The mineral oil won’t necessarily protect from coffee rings. But a coaster will! :slight_smile:

Oil alone is generally pretty bad for protecting wood from wear and stains. For table tops, you probably want something like varnish or polyurethane. However, once the wood has been oiled, it’s not clear how well other finishes will adhere. You might try something like Watco’s Danish Oil or Formby’s Tung Oil finish – those are oil finishes with varnish hardeners. Easy to apply and they’ll provide some protection (but not the bullet proof protection you’ll get from a thick coat of polyurethane or epoxy).

Did you read the part where it said you should’ve used BEHANDLA wood treatment oil prior to first use? They sell that at IKEA too.