Woodworkers, would you help me figure out how much wood to order for a project?

Thanks to lots of help from the Dope, I’ve been building a workshop—going from a fix-it area to a burgeoning crafting area. And, as a good beginner, I first made a bandsaw box and frame, and now it’s time to make a cutting board.

For raw materials I am going to order turning blanks. They’re roughly square already and easier to find/order than planks (or am I looking in the wrong place?). I’m ordering through Woodcraft because they’ll ship to store and I’m going to rent space there for a few hours—they let you have access to all their equipment (I still have a long way to go in filling my shop) and will show me how to properly set up and use it.

I want to make an end-grain cutting board with three types of wood. Thinking through the process here, I want its overall dimensions to be X by Y by Z. The Z dimension will determine the turning block size (so they’re square cubes); I’m trying to figure out the overall length I need.

I am starting with 2” squares because that’s a common size (and hence greater availability) and because when trimmed down/faced it should make for a hefty butcher’s block-style board.

By multiplying (X/2) * (Y/2), I get the total number of blocks I’ll need.

I’ll use that to make a grid of those blocks and then a coloured pattern of the three types of wood.

That should give me the number of each type of wood blocks I’ll need.

So that (number of blocks) * Z = the total finished length of turning stock that will go into the project.

I need to add something for kerf and sanding, which is where I’m coming up short. How much should I add to each block? A full quarter inch? Half inch? I would think that it would make a difference if I’m getting 6" or 12" lengths (fewer kerfs), but does that add up enough in a small project to be a factor?