Woodworking advice needed: Putty

I’m building some cabinets for Mrs R, and I’m about to assemble them for the last time, gluing and puttying the joints. I was planning to use the old standby, plastic wood, for puttying, but it occurred to me that something better might exist.

The cabinet parts have been dry-fit, then stained and varnished (except for the surfaces to be glued) but I do expect to have to touch up (putty, stain, varnish) the joints.

The ideal putty would sand easily, take stain just like real wood, and be water-soluble (at least before it dries), so I could smooth the joints with my wet finger or a sponge (thereby minimizing the chances of fouling up the already-finished surfaces during sanding).

Anyone out there know of a putty like that?

When you find it, let me know. I’m a total amateur (though my less handy friends disagree). I dry fit, then join/glue/clamp, then putty, then finish. This is an awful process and every time I start a project I swear I’m going to do the finish before I do the glue up. But then my fear of a mistake & desire to see it “almost done” get the best of me.

Best putty probably isn’t water soluble, is made of actually wood products and will accept stain.
However, it doesn’t need to be water soluble. It is work-able, sand-able and stain-able.

And for the life of me I can’t remember the name of the one I use, but Minwax has all the varieties.

I really likeElmer’s Wood Filler. It’s water soluble, sticky, dries hard, and doesn’t shrink. Sandable and stainable.

I’ve always used the minwax wood putty. But I’ve always done this after the glue up and before sanding and finishing.

Just out of curiosity, why did you finish the parts before assembling them? Unless there’s a compelling reason, you may be making it harder on yourself than it needs to be.