Workplace griping, anyone?

Anyone want to bitch? Big, small, in-between irritations?

I’ll go first; there is an issue at my temp placement with breaks (as in, no one takes any). Let me re-phrase that; no one but the smokers take any. :mad: (I don’t smoke.)

You could start?

Yep. And management are all chain smokers, and consider smoke breaks to be necessary, unlike breaks to go to the bathroom or to eat.

OK, that was weak of me.

Here’s a real gripe.

You, Mr. Client, do not speak English, other than at a very basic level. Nor are you qualified in the particular technology under consideration. Yet you chose to write a patent spec in English (not your native language which is Japanese) to be filed in the US, and you want me to go though it first to make sure it’s all in order. Fine. I can do that, because…

I graduated at the top of my class at university in (mainly English) linguistics, I have formal accreditation in the field of technology in question, and a law degree that’s yellowing at the edges, with a license to practise, just to back up my 15 or so years of on the job experience in IP. So that’s why I get kind of annoyed when you…

Send back my finalized draft with a shitload of red-ink corrections and, let’s be honest, rather arrogant, assertions that I don’t know what I’m talking about. I’ve only read your first page so far and already I’m fuming. You’re not that valuable of a client, you know?

Protein domain X does not “fail to” include substance Y, it “does not” include substance Y. I changed your wording because “fails to” implies a defect or something unexpected, but what you want to convey is a simple expected and desirable state of domain X not having Y. You tell me that you have seen the language “fails to” in an US Office Action many times before and therefore it’s perfectly fine terminology to use when filing at the USPTO. (Practitioners who know the relevance will be banging their heads against the wall at this point).