Workplace legalities: listening to private conversations.

Background info: I work as a home-based call-centre operator for a national company. The ‘call centre’ stuff is as per what you would find in a normal office-based call centre, but instead of sitting in an office surrounded by hordes of other schleppers like myself, I am ensconced in the comfort of my own home and space.

Like a normal c/centre, we work with an auto-dialler and our calls are monitored and recorded remotely for q & t purposes etc. We also have a chat function so that we can keep in touch with others on the same campaign, and so that our supervisors can give us feedback and heads-up stuff during the day.

Logged-off today, but still able to access the chat column, I noted that one of our supervisors was having a giggle about a conversation one of the workers was having with her kids in between calls. IOW, he was (unbeknownst to her) eavesdropping on a private family exchange, then later shared with her how funny and amusing it was.

:eek: :confused: :confused:

WTF?? I was aghast, and about to ring the office and complain extremely bitterly about the ethics and/or legality of listening in on private conversations (not work related), but thought I’d better run this here first for some second opinions.

So, I’m presuming that the worker in question was on paid-time and waiting for a phone-call to come to her (sometimes there is quite a lapse between calls). She MAY have been in wrap time in which case those seconds/minutes are unpaid time anyway. In the meantime we can talk to our kids, sing lullabies to the dog, rail at the unfairness of life the universe and everything, or whatever else takes our fancy. We are not working at that time, although we are prepared for work, so to speak.

Does a company representative have the legal and/or ethical right to listen to employee conversations that are not related to the work situation? Would you be squicked out by this? What’s your humble opinions?