World Cup rule question

If you sub a player, can that player be subbed in later?

Nope, he’s done for the game. I’ll try to find a cite for you.

Here’s FIFA’s official rulebook [Warning-PDF file]

It’s on page 17. Basically it states that a player who has been replaced can take no further part in the match.

On the other hand, a player that’s been subbed in can himself be subbed out for someone else.

How do I know? Well, it just happened in the England/Portugal match.

Yes…that was a bit silly, wasn’t it?

Presumably it was so Carragher could take one of the penalties.