Worried about workplace back injuries. What can I do?

Here’s the situation: I’m a graphic designer, but when I was looking for a job after college graduation 3 years ago, I had no luck and got an offer through a University to be the sole worker and operator of a small art store on campus. It sounded good, and I needed a job so I took it.

Besides store operations I am also required to lift up to 100lbs or more. of product shipments that arrive to me, which is often, without help. I can handle up to 100lbs but more than that is too much for me. Things that I can’t handle myself are rolls of canvas and large boxes of paper (both close to 200lbs). When I started the job, I had a written job description given to me. Nowhere on it did it state that heavy lifting was required. After a few months on the job, when I approached the services director asking for occasional help with very heavy items, she admitted they goofed by not adding the detail about heavy lifting to the description. She then proceeded to threaten me (!) by saying, “If you can’t do the job, we might have to let you go”. I immediately convinced her I could do it (the job pays well and if I lost my job, I would lose the apartment I share with my husband. He only works part-time and can’t find better; I have been searching for graphic design positions for a couple years and can’t find anything.)
, so that ended that conversation.

Now, they have sinced changed my job description to include a statement about heavy lifting. However, I still have the original one that was given to me when I was hired. I have been lucky in that: 1. I have a good strong back, and, 2. Some of the people in receiving occasionally offer to help me when I get a heavy shipment. I always lift correctly (with the legs, back kept straight), and I never do more than I feel is my limit. So I guess what I am wondering is:

1. Even though I take precautions, do I have a high risk of permanently injuring my back, and;