Worst. Gig. Ever.

From this article about a videotape of Uday Hussein’s birthday party:

Now that’s a BAD gig.

I had a keyboard player who found a local drug dealer kinfed and dying on the floor of the mens’ room. We also had a drunk pull a long-barreled revolver (to stop an argument, he said) just after we had finished playing, but he wasn’t pointing it at us so we just scooted out the door.

What’s your worst?

These don’t even come close, but once I played at a biker bar, and a big guy came up and asked us if we could stop playing so could hear some song on the jukebox. We did.

In another band, we were a punk-like grunge-like metal-like outfit, and the place billed us as a reggae group. Quite a dissapointment for everyone involved.

About 15 years ago, I was a guitarist in a moderate-heavy but essentially middle of the road rock band. I occasionally hung about with other guitarists, one of which - an acoustic-playing ‘tie a yellow ribbon’ or ‘the leaving of liverpool’ (i.e. completely crap folk music) - asked if me and the drummer in our band would back him and his bro’ for a new years gig at a local club.

So far, so good. We assumed that the clientele actually wanted to hear this folk-muzak, and were quite happy to prostitute ourselves for what was quite an amount of money, it being new years’.

So we got there, set up, and the clients started to pour in.

It soon became clear that not all was well. The booking manager had screwed up. Royally screwed up.

The Hell’s Angel’s helmets were probably the first giveaway, quickly followed by the realisation that each of these 20 stone behemoths must have been cultivating their beards with much effort over the last 5 years.