Would Jesus find anything familiar in a modern synagogue other than the Torah?

Do any of the rites or chanting or anything else go back to his time? I guess the question is would he feel at all at home?

Man, buckle in. Good question.

I’m not an expert obviously, but I did spend most of my childhood going to synagogue and still go occasionally. So I’ll tell what I know.

Most of the prayer service comes from the Siddur, which I believe is a middle ages publication, maybe as recent as the 19th century. About half of the prayers are directly from the Torah, prophets, or Psalms, including direct reading of psalms, so Jesus would recognize those. Conservative and Orthodox prayer is done mostly in Hebrew and Aramaic. Hebrew he probably knew, and Aramaic was his first language, so he’d definitely understand that. The Aramaic prayers are probably quite ancient, since I don’t believe anyone does any original new writing in Aramaic anymore. Most synagogues have the six candled menorahs in them, which I believe goes back to about Jesus’ time, actually a little further back, since menorahs were in the temple before the Maccabees, which was about 100 years before Jesus.

What he’d probably get mad at is that 2000 years later we still focus on the same things he told us weren’t nearly as important as loving your neighbor, helping the poor, etc. It’s not that Jews don’t believe in those things, but most Jewish services and sermons in my experience tend to focus on the spiritual, finer points of law, or issues affecting the Jewish community and Israel. He’d probably consider modern Jews similar to Pharisees, and I do believe most of our tradition comes primarily from that source, although Jews respect Sadduccees and Essenes as well. Rabbis from all three of those major lines of though around Jesus’ time are respected.