Would this be grounds for a gender-discrimination lawsuit?

Let’s say there is a scuba dive resort in tropical waters known to be infested with sharks.
The scuba shop owner puts a policy in place: Women who are undergoing menstrual bleeding will not be allowed to scuba dive, for fear of attracting shark attacks. For that matter, nobody of any gender with an open wound or cut is allowed to dive, either.
Obviously, the owner isn’t going to (and can’t) verify if a woman is experiencing menstrual bleeding. But if a woman (for whatever reason) makes it known that she is undergoing menstrual bleeding, she won’t be allowed to dive.
Would a gender-discrimination lawsuit against such a policy be successful?

I highly doubt it would be successful. Anyone can bring a suit. I’m not a lawyer, but this is in IMHO, so I’ll offer my opinion: It’s a measure of safety for everyone involved. If it’s known that menstruation can attract sharks and attacks of divers, then the safety of the group comes before anything else. Since they don’t limit it just to menstruation, but rather any ‘open blood flow,’ you’d have a hard time proving it was discriminatory to only women.

I’m not sure.

(assuming U.S. law applies.)

You would think a rational policy to prevent shark attacks would withstand scrunity.
However, what if the shop’s policy is based on a myth. Then, perhaps, it’s a pretense to discriminate.

I will say, however, that I wouldn’t take such a case on behalf of the potential plaintiff.

No, for the same reason that amusement park rides require individuals be of a certain height or any other various policies. If it’s a safety issue, a business is expected to take all precautions to minimize risk.