Wrong employer listed on my credit report: should I fix it?

I just got copies of my credit reports and two of the three agencies have my old employer listed as my current employer. The third has no employer information. I’ve been in my current job for more than 6 years, so I’m not sure why their information is so stale. Should I fix it?

I was thinking I should because if I apply for a loan (I’m thinking of refinancing my mortgage) it could raise questions if the employer I list doesn’t match what’s on the file (at least I guess it could raise questions, I don’t know for sure).

However, it hasn’t affected my ability to get credit over the past 6 years, so I want to make sure nothing negative will happen if I fix it. Is there anything bad that can happen to my credit from fixing the name of my current employer?

I’ve heard that changing my employer can make it look like I’m new to a job and that may have a negative impact on my credit score. Is that correct? The source I heard it from (my uncle) is not exactly reliable! I’ve been in the job more than 6 years, so it’s not like I’m new.

The good news is there was nothing incorrect on my credit file and my FICO score was quite good! There were a couple department store cards that I’ve opened that have 0 balances but I’ve never closed them. (I think I opened them when stores were running promotions to get the discount on purchases and then paid them off without actually closing the accounts.) Once I close those, my score should get even higher! The biggest negative on my account was a lot of available credit.

The “employer” records in the credit report are not generally believed to be a factor in your score.
I would not bother changing it, personally. Most credit issuers probably realize that half of the time the “current employer” listed on there is inaccurate.