Yeast/No-Yeast Bread with Same Recipe?

My elementary summer school group is studying ancient cultures. We have learned that the Egyptians sometimes used yeast, so I want them to make bread. Since I’m also a science teacher, I really want them to examine the effects of yeast on bread dough.

Is there a simple bread recipe that can be used with or without yeast? In order to be more scientific, I’d rather have the recipes be as close to identical as possible, with yeast being the only ingredient that differs.

In my mind I’m picturing the two different uncooked doughs, one that rises and one that doesn’t, producing two different loaves of bread that are different but both still edible. Is this possible? I don’t bake bread so I don’t really know where to start.

What a cool experiment!

Yeah, you could definitely do it, though you can’t really make bread without yeast or some other type of leavening such as baking powder - you’d get a brick, not anything edible.

What you could do is make something like crackers (no yeast) versus a flat style bread - focaccia or pizza dough.

Contrast, for example, this recipe for matzo crackers and this recipe for focaccia.

The primary difference is that the focaccia has a little bit of sugar and yeast in it. You can easily leave the sugar out - it’ll just take longer to rise (2-3 hours versus 30 minutes).

You could also regulate the amounts of olive oil & water between the two. I’d use 1/2 cup water and 2 T. oil for both recipes - the focaccia will be a little harder to work with because it’ll be wetter, and the matzo will taste a little less olive-oily, but both recipes will work. However, if you’re OK with the amounts of water being slightly different, use the amounts called for in the recipes, simply because both doughs will be easier to work with that way.

If you end up doing it, I’d love to hear how it turns out, and what the kids thought. Great idea!