Your job vs what you planned to do / dream job

This idea came to me based on seeing the thread:

What did you dream of doing as a child and/or what career did you study for vs what career are you actually pursuing now?

NB: vague answers on what you do now are fine, no need to “out” your real identity :slight_smile:

In my case, my dream was to be a scientist (a famous scientist, naturally), probably in theoretical physics, and the short answer is: I’m not a scientist. Instead I worked in software development, and now product management.
However the dev and management work I do is within science and R&D.

never mind

I never had a serious dream job - I did think I should be a rock star or a famous actress or an author, but never seriously enough to pursue any of those. I figured it would just happen if it was meant to be. More realistically, I figured I’d have a proper “girl” job (that’s how I saw it in the 60s) - teacher, secretary, wife and mother, but not nurse - icky bodily fluids…

I was going to college to prepare for a teaching career when I decided I hated being in school and I didn’t really want to teach, so I joined the Navy. That led me eventually to becoming an engineer and working as both a Mechanical Engineer and an Aerospace Structural Engineer over the course of 26 years. Never in my young life would I have foreseen such a path, but it suited me and it worked out well.

I’m somewhat envious of those who knew early on what they wanted to do and followed through. My career path was mostly a series of “Sure, why not - I’ll give it a try” rather than a well-planned journey. It was a good journey, tho. No real regrets.