Things that piss IT people off

Pet peeve for today:

When I am in the main part of the office, and I am plugging leads into a patch panel, do not walk up behind me and make fake explosion noises, or talk loudly to the person next to you along the lines of “Max is about to blow everything up”, or “Max is touching things, the system’s gonna crash”, or some other smart-arse wise-alecky thing. It’s not funny, and it pisses me off. I’m a professional, goddamit, and very good at my job!

And listen, you pack of ungrateful cunts, ever since I took this job, downtime has been reduced to less than 24 hours a year (combined downtime for over 40 servers). That’s 99.72% uptime for the combined infrastructure! Most of our systems (with the exception of the aging VMS system) are operating at 100% availability! Even the fucking VMS system, for all its flaws, has a greater than 99% availability. So fuck off. Just fuck off already!

The next prick who says something witty the next time I’m trying to do an upgrade will find a CAT5e cable stuck up his or her arse. It’ll feel oh-so-good going in, but I promise it won’t be easy pulling it back out. You have been warned.

IT people and/or techie types: feel free to add your pet peeves here!

:smiley: Max

Actually, mine’s the same as yours. The joke, “Man, what’d you break THIS time?” wasn’t funny the first time I came over to fix your ailing computers; why do you think it’s still funny after five years?

I know that our computers are in a damp, fur-filled environment with leaky roofs and unstable temperatures. I can’t control that. I can just try to use enough duct tape and baling wire, and a little bit of chewing gum, to keep them all working. Please make your jokes funnier.

Daniel

“Fur-filled”?

Your computers are in a vagina?