writing erotica for money - how to get started?

I am a pretty decent writer of erotica and was thinking perhaps I could use my talent to earn some extra money.

But I’m not sure how to get started - I was contemplating writing custom stuff and selling it on the 'net, or submitting stories to erotic publishers.

Any thoughts / suggestions / ideas?

There’s actually a book called “How to Write Erotica,” or something like that. My brother has a copy.

Is erotica like the stuff in Penthouse Letters? I’d say the first thing to do is track down a thesaurus for genetalia, and then write 'em like Mad Libs. :stuck_out_tongue:

go to www.erotica-writers.com (link is work safe), then go to the Writer’s Resources and see what they have to say. They have lots of good stuff to get you started.

Do you write erotica romance? There is a huge market for, in print and online, for erotica romance. The more specialized your genre (fantasy, sci-fi, 3some, m/m, some combination of all) the more you’ll sell. Do some market research using the link I provided as a starting point.

Black Lace publishes erotic novels and anthologies and accepts submissions from new authors. Their website is wwwblacklace-booksco*uk (substitute periods for the asterisks). They supposedly only accept work from female authors but I don’t know how serious they are about that.

Black Lace is pretty serious about its submission guidelines. I’ve had some contact with the editor, and she made it pretty clear that they reject manuscripts unread if they don’t fall match all their guidelines.

But if I were to submit a story “My Hot Lesbian Lover” by Nema Little and it was otherwise acceptable, would they insist on a notarized proof of gender or just accept my implied statement that I’m a woman?

I dunno. Since I’m a girl, that never came up. I guess there’s only one way to find out.

Remind me to come back to this thread. I’ve been published in the genre.